Ambrosia Software Web Board: Cythera Chronicles: Blacksmith: Monday - Ambrosia Software Web Board

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Cythera Chronicles: Blacksmith: Monday

#1 User is offline   Celchu 

• thing
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 07 August 2003 - 10:15 AM

I rest on a swath of grass, ten or so feet from the shore, looking over the moonlit sea. It sparkles. I hold my pole tight, in anticipation. The fish aren't biting much today; their appetites satisfied, and so I sit here, feeling no drive to return home. The moon's traces stretched silk ovals on the placid surface. No ripples. Odd for a night like this, when the wind usually blows fiercer than the gods. I have spent all day on the seaside, waiting for a bite. It is how I make my living, snatching the things up from the salty brine and flaying them.

Most days, I don't carry on this late, heading home long before the sun sinks. But today a brilliantly setting sun, coupled with the frustration of lean pickings, tempted me to stay until dark. The thin moon keeps me still, binding in its crepuscular light.

Even so, I must depart sometime, and now is as good as any other. I reel in my line leisurely. It is cut halfway, my lure gone. I felt no pull. It was cut, as by a knife. I stand up, gazing out across the sea into nothingness, curious. I walk toward the water, and a sudden gust of wind blows salt into my face. I taste the brine, bitter to my tongue. It gets into my eyes, burning, and tears drip down. I reach the water, and cautiously touch its surface, then jerk my hand back.

It is boiling. Seething, even. Bubbles rise up, from a depth my weak eyes cannot pierce in night, and burst beneath my fingers. Something is there, just below my sight, and I cannot fathom it. The tears increase threefold; I clutch a scalded hand; I run, nearly as fast as the wind howling around me, screaming with me.